Au Revoir! A Few Closing Words on My Last Day

Alas, the bittersweet time has come for Chelsea to leave the English Office. After four years of studies, I will be graduating from the Honors College a la Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor’s in English literature and a philosophy minor on Saturday, May 14th. The graduation cap on my head will read: β€œNo, IDK what I’m doing next,” and it couldn’t be more accurate.

I plan to spend the summer attending music festivals and traveling. When fall comes I will then settle down and make some plans for what is next. One thing, however, is certain: the time I have spent at WKU and in the English Department has helped cultivate me into the person I am today, and certainly the person that I will be in the future. I am grateful for the extraordinary professors and faculty that I have encountered along the way, and I will never forget them as I progress into my life and career.

I hope that in leaving my gift to the department will be this blog site, First Floor Cherry. It has been my goal to help foster a community within the department that allows English students and faculty to stay in-the-know and up-to-date with departmental news, opportunities, and happenings. In the future, as I leave and pass on the torch that is First Floor Cherry, I hope that he or she who comes after me will be able to pick up where I left off and further my vision for the site and the department.

I have enjoyed my time working in the department and the relationships that I have made while being here. I will miss it, surely. Thank you all for reading.

Chelsea McCarty, over and out.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Au Revoir! A Few Closing Words on My Last Day

  1. Keith Epley says:

    “All is dark where thou art not,” Tennyson Your major and minor will sustain you on your wonderful journeys!

    Like

  2. Tomitha Blair says:

    Thank you for all your hard work, Chelsea! You will be greatly missed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

