A Moment for Poetic Reflection: Brought to You by the Cherry Hall First Floor Womens’ Bathroom Stalls

image8

Glad you asked, ambiguous graffiti artist. We can probably figure this out together.

Today, I spent about ten to fifteen minutes doing something rather unusual. I walked into every bathroom stall (that was unoccupied–don’t worry, I didn’t interrupt anyone) in every womens’ bathroom in Cherry Hall (not including the faculty-only stall, even though as of late I’ve been deemed responsible enough to know where the key is). Praying no one would walk in, I opened each and every door and took photographs of what I saw on the backside. The results: expected.

If you’re a female student in the English Department, and you’re not some alien that doesn’t use toilets, then you’ve certainly seen the “graffiti” scribbled across the stall walls of our first floor bathroom. But is it really appropriate to call this “graffiti?”

image5

Actually, this quote is from some book about vampires (not the “interview with a” kind).

We English majors spend our days studying, reading, and writing. It’s what we do. It’s in our blood. We bleed words like a decapitated and staked head during the French Revolution. Okay, weird simile, but you get the point. The words just come to us (could it be because we have really good memories of the shows, songs, and books we enjoy? Maybe.).

image9

Nope it be not.

It’s not surprising, though, that when we are given a blank canvas and a moment of time to contemplate that our feverish hands scribble our momentary and fleeting thoughts, even if they are ripped from the last poem we read.

image7

As with all timeless quotes, the origins of this phrase seem to be lost.

And, if you were wondering, as I said before, I, in a most awkward manner, lurked through all of the ladies’  bathrooms in Cherry Hall to find out if my assumption was correct: it was. I assumed that our stalls would be the most enlightening, poetic, and reflective. But what I found was that, actually, no other floor has “graffiti” of any sort on their bathroom stalls. Go us, because we are killing the “graffiti on the bathroom stalls” game.

image6

“On either side the river lie,” hmm…where have I heard this before?

Don’t you just love us? But, at the same time, I can’t ignore the irony of it all. Here we are a sympathetic and liberal arts department and lo and behold we’ve got a ton of sympathetic poetry scribbled significantly insignificant across our bathroom walls. I love it, but I hate it. I hate that I love it. But I love it all the same.

image1

“Night gathers and now my watch begins / It shall not end until my death / I shall take no wife, hold no lands, father no children / I shall wear no crows and win no glory / I shall live and die at any post / I am the sword in the darkness / I am the watcher on the walls / I am the shield that guards the realms of men / I pledge my life and honor to the Night’s watch, / For this night and all nights to come.”

We sure can steal like artists. The above quote is taken from Game of Thrones.

image10

Oh, more Game of Thrones.

image3

We see you Game of Thrones fans. We see you. Don’t you all have classes at which to be?

image16

Oh look, A dropped in. Watch yo’selves y’all. A is feisty. (Pretty Little Liars references)

image11

Ambiguous origins on the quote, but thank you all the same optimistically in-love friend.

image12

Cool, Marianas Trench.

image13

And then it got dark.

image14

Lol, from Pippin.

image15

Truthhhhhhhh.

So, all y’all English headies out there keep on bringing all y’all’s pens to the toilet, because inspiration flourishes behind those doors, apparently. Wouldn’t want to miss out on a fleeting thought that you could share silently with the world in the most holy of places.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

